Applied Photography

Hoelderlin_Umschlag

Hölderlin. Eine Winterreise (2011)

To this day H Hölderlin’s journey to Bordeaux in the winter of 1801/1802 remains an enigma. Only one thing is certain, it became the turning point of his life and his writing as a poet. Thomas Knudden followed the route on foot. Starting in Nürtingen, over the Swabian Alb and the Black Forrest, past Strassbourg and Lyons, through the Auvergne to Bordeaux. In winter and alone.

C_Hils-Wolverhampton_01

New Building Works | Wolverhampton Art Gallery (2007)

60 tonnes of scaffolding, 12 miles of cable, 10,000 hours to install electrics, 5 tonnes of tubing and boards, 2000 tonnes of rock and spoil excavated, 360 cubed metres of concrete moved, 2 km of structural steel used to create the triangular structure.
This raw data provides a glimpse into the building of the extension to Wolverhampton Art Gallery which represents a milestone in our history.

Hils-Team_NL_01

TEAM.NL (2004)

In 2004 Claudio Hils was asked by the Photography Museum Amsterdam to compile an artistic documentary of the Dutch national soccer team. He accompanied the TEAM.NL on several friendlies leading up to the European Championship. The results are far removed from sports photography commonly encountered. His work offers views into areas not normally focused on by sports photography.

September 2001: Schulung von Kassenpersonal bei der Soumen Pankki - Finlands Bank in Helsinki. september 2001: Training of cashiers at Suomen Pankki - Finlands bank in Helsinki.

The Making of the Euro (2002)

Since 1 January 2002 more than 300 million people from the twelve Monetary Union Member States have been using the common currency, the euro, every day. Belgium, Germany, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Austria, Portugal and Spain have seen the new currency become a symbol of the unswerving integration process within one year. Claudio Hils, a renowned photographer, had been commissioned by the European Central Bank to document the birth of the european currency from june 2001 to february 2002.

Hils-WerkStadt_0

WerkStadt Sindelfingen (2002)

On behalf of Daimler Chrysler AG, Claudio Hils documented the employees of the plant in Sindelfingen for the exhibition and the book “werkstadt sindelfingen – An Exhibition by Daimler Chrysler AG”.
More than 26.000 people visited the exhibition between May and December 2001 – an overwhelming response.

Hils-Im_Fluss

In the river (2001)

The River Weser kept two carrier-ships and their sandstone-freight for over three hundred years hidden.
In this publication, Claudio Hils documents the phases of recovery, conservation and presentation of the historic Weser ships.

Angewandte Fotografie

Hoelderlin_Umschlag

Hölderlin. Eine Winterreise (2011)

Hölderlins Reise nach Bordeaux im Winter 1801/1802 stellt bis heute ein großes Rätsel dar. Sicher ist nur: Sie wurde zum entscheidenden Wendepunkt im Leben und Schreiben des Dichters. Thomas Knubben ist der Route Hölderlins zu Fuß gefolgt. Von Nürtingen aus wanderte er über die Alb, über den Schwarzwald, über Straßburg, Lyon, die Auvergne nach Bordeaux. Im Winter und allein.

C_Hils-Wolverhampton_01

New Building Works | Wolverhampton Art Gallery (2007)

60 Tonnen Gerüst, 12 Meilen Kabel, 10.000 Stunden für die Installation der Elektrik, 5 Tonnen an Rohren und Brettern, 2000 Tonnen Stein und Aushub, 360 m³ Beton, 2 km Baustahl wurden verarbeitet, um einen dreieckigen Bau zu erschaffen.
Diese Ausgangsdaten vermitteln einen Einblick in den Bau der Erweiterung der Wolverhampton Art Gallery, welcher einen wichtigen Meilenstein in der Geschichte der Galerie darstellt.

Hils-Team_NL_01

TEAM.NL (2004)

2004 wurde Claudio Hils vom Fotografie-Museum Amsterdam beauftragt, eine künstlerisch-dokumentarische Arbeit über die Niederländische Fußballnationalmannschaft zu erarbeiten. Er begleitete das TEAM.NL bei verschiedenen Vorbereitungsspielen auf die Fußball-Europameisterschaft. Das Ergebnis ist weit entfernt von den Sportfotografien, die uns sonst begegnen. Seine Arbeit gibt Einblicke in die Bereiche, die sonst in der Sportfotografie nicht thematisiert werden.

September 2001: Schulung von Kassenpersonal bei der Soumen Pankki - Finlands Bank in Helsinki. september 2001: Training of cashiers at Suomen Pankki - Finlands bank in Helsinki.

The Making of the Euro (2002)

Seit dem 1. Januar 2002 zahlen über 300 Millionen Bürger in den 12 Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Währungsunion mit dem Zahlungsmittel Euro. Dem Ziel der europäischen Integration ist man mit der Einführung der gemeinsamen Währung einen großen Schritt näher gekommen.
Der renommierte Fotograf Claudio Hils dokumentierte im Auftrag der Europäischen Zentralbank die Entstehung des neuen Geldes.

Hils-WerkStadt_0

WerkStadt Sindelfingen (2002)

Im Auftrag der Daimler Chrysler AG dokumentierte Claudio Hils Mitarbeiter des Werkes Sindelfingen für das Ausstellungs- und Buchprojekt „Werkstadt Sindelfingen – Eine Ausstellung der Daimler Chrysler AG.“
Mehr als 26.000 Menschen haben zwischen Mai und Dezember 2001 die Ausstellung „Werkstadt Sindelfingen“ besucht – eine überwältigende Resonanz.

Hils-Im_Fluss

Im Fluss (2001)

Über dreihundert Jahre hielt die Weser zwei Lastkähne und ihre Sandsteinfracht verborgen.
In der vorliegenden Publikation dokumentiert Claudio Hils die Phasen Bergung, Konservierung und Präsentation der historischen Weserschiffe.