Documentary Photography

19

abseits – aside – à l’écart (2012)

Few landscapes of Germany’s Southwest managed to preserve a unique balance of nature, work and culture like the rural space settled between the Danube, the Allgäu and Lake Constance. Yet long ago this idyll began to deceive. Now, where ‘home’ is the nicest word for backwardness (Martin Walser), it is being permiated right into the natural growth, the touristy barrocated blue skies by the harbingers of modernization.

YA0A0291

INDUSTRY_TIME_SPACE (2005)

The images in this catalogue are the result of a photographic reconnaissance. They document those industrial regions in Friedrichshafen, where they are located, which to this day decisively characterize the identity of the city. MTU, EADS, ZF Konzern, Zeppelin GmbH. The names of the industrial heavyweights make reference to a conflicting legacy, which includes utopia as well as destruction.

01_BELFAST_3169

Archive_Belfast (2004)

In his photographic projects Claudio Hils explores controversial themes, such as the surreal scenery of war at an army training ground or the inhumanity of urban architecture in the new metropolitan mega-conurbations. In this volume he documents the evidence left by years of violence in Belfast.

BangkokBangkok

Dream City (2001)

What would Siena be without the Campo? What would Venice be without St. Mark’s Square? The town architects of the past knew well the benefit and the importance of open areas within the city walls. Comparable squares or public space are relatively rare in 20th century architecture. Admittedly vast sums are spent on improving our inner cities, creating new zones for shopping and leisure, but very few cities put any effort into reinstating or creating new high quality open spaces in the suburbs or in residential areas.

Zielobjekt für Gummigeschosse: Terrorist 3Target for rubber bullet: terrorist 3

Red Land, Blue Land (2000)

The present publication contains photographs by Claudio Hils taken at the troop training grounds in Senne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany.
During man oeuvres Red Land stands for enemy, Blue Land for friendly territory. The artist approaches the terrain with what appear to be standard pictures of landscapes already suggestive of a specific intention. In what follows, the reader will observe a series of mysterious pictures of a seemingly surreal ghost town which, until recently, has provided the setting of numerous rehearsals for military emergencies.

Kudamm, Berlin, Dezember 1989Kudamm, Berlin, December 1989

Neuland – 1989-1999 (1999)

Following an individual impulse and having the need to clarify a certain feeling of faintness towards himself, the photographer Claudio Hils has documented a decade of German History since the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989. With the author, the whorl of images passes through space, which at arrival is no longer the same, and from which spontaneity, joined by irritations such as vague hopes, grows into a process. Time becomes the axis and the mirror of its breaking.

4sb_dunkel

Tokyo Urban Space (1999)

In this exhibition catalogue Claudio Hils devotes himself to the Japanese world. Human beings in the architecture of central bank quarters are the focus of this selection as well as urban scenery with canals and parks, rivers and the tangle of high streets. The coloured slides and the subjects share the same clinical cleanliness.

Autorenfotografie

19

abseits – aside – à l‘écart (2012)

Kaum eine Landschaft des deutschen Südwestens hat sich so lange eine ähnliche Balance zwischen Natur, Arbeit und Kultur bewahrt, wie der ländliche Raum zwischen Donau, Allgäu und Bodensee. Doch längst trügt die Idylle. Nun sickern auch hier, wo Heimat das schönste Wort für Zurückgebliebenheit schien (Martin Walser), in das organisch Gewachsene, den touristisch verklärten barocken Schönwetterhimmel, zunehmend die Vorboten der Modernisierung.

YA0A0291

INDUSTRIE_ZEIT_RAUM (2005)

Die Bilder in diesem Katalog sind das Resultat einer fotografischen Erkundung. Sie dokumentieren die industriellen Areale, die die Identität der Stadt Friedrichshafen, in der sie verortet sind, bis heute entscheidend geprägt haben. MTU, EADS, ZF-Konzern, Zeppelin GmbH. Die Namen der Großkonzerne verweisen auf ein zwiespältiges Erbe, das sowohl von Utopie als auch von Zerstörung zeugt.

01_BELFAST_3169

Archive_Belfast (2004)

In seinen Fotoprojekten lotet Claudio Hils kontroverse Themen aus, so etwa die surrealistische Kriegsszenerie eines Truppenübungsplatzes oder die Unmenschlichkeit der Stadtarchitektur in den neuen Megametropolen. In der vorliegenden Publikation dokumentiert er die Spuren, die Jahre der Gewalt in Belfast hinterlassen haben.

BangkokBangkok

Dream City (2001)

Was wäre Siena ohne den Campo? Venedig ohne den Marktplatz? Frühere Städtebauer wussten um die Wirkung und Bedeutung des Freiraumes in der Stadt. Entsprechende Plätze und Räume finden sich in der Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts nur selten. Zwar werden heute Innenstädte mit unvergleichlichem Aufwand zur Shopping- und Freizeitkulisse geschönt, doch nur in wenigen Städten wird auch versucht, in den Rand- und Wohnbezirken qualitätvolle Platzräume wiederzugewinnen oder gar zu schaffen.

Zielobjekt für Gummigeschosse: Terrorist 3Target for rubber bullet: terrorist 3

Red Land, Blue Land (2000)

Die vorliegende Publikation zeigt Photographien von Claudio Hils, die auf dem Truppenübungsplatz Senne in Nordrhein-Westfalen aufgenommen wurden – Red Land steht für Feindes-, Blue Land für Freundesland im Manöver.
Der Künstler nähert sich dem Terrain mit scheinbar alltäglichen Landschaftsaufnahmen, die bereits Zeichen der besonderen Nutzung enthalten, es folgen rätselhafte Bilder einer surreal anmutenden Geisterstadt, die die Kulisse für zahlreiche Proben des kriegerischen Ernstfalls bot, und zwar bis in die jüngste Zeit.

Kudamm, Berlin, Dezember 1989Kudamm, Berlin, December 1989

Neuland – 1989-1999 (1999)

Einem individuellen Impuls folgend, sich selbst gegenüber eine gewisse Ohnmacht abklären zu müssen, dokumentierte Claudio Hils seit dem Fall der Mauer im November 1989 zugleich auch ein Jahrzehnt Deutscher Geschichte. Mit dem Autor durchläuft die Bildwelt einen Raum, der bei Ankunft nicht mehr derselbe ist und aus dem die Spontaneität, begleitet von Irritationen wie zaghaften Hoffnungen, zum Prozess erwächst. Die Zeit wird zur Achse und zum Spiegel ihrer Brechungen.

4sb_dunkel

Tokyo Urban Space (1999)

In diesem Ausstellungskatalog wendet sich Claudio Hils japanischen Lebenswelten zu. Menschen in der Architektur der zentralen Bankenviertel stehen im Mittelpunkt der Auswahl, aber auch die Stadtlandschaft der Kanäle und Parks, der Flüsse und des Hochstraßengewirrs. Gemeinsam ist den farbigen Lichtbildern und den Sujets die geradezu klinische Sauberkeit.